Joe Miralles – Five EP (Music Review)

Review By: Shaine Freeman, Host of The Miews
Genre: Rock, Pop

joe miralles

On April 4th, Philadelphia-based singer and songwriter, Joe Miralles, released his fifth album appropriately titled, Five. Joe collaborated with producer, Cliff Hillis on the EP, and enlisted the writing talents of Paul Colman from the Paul Colman Trio for the project’s hit single, “Church Downtown”.  Five carries a tone that is uplifting and filled with hope, which is a refreshing break from much of the music that’s being released these days. But, this is mostly because Joe has his feet firmly planted in his faith. While the EP is not necessarily a Christian release, it’s clear that Joe Miralles writes from a faith focused perspective — a good thing.

Five offers six (6) songs that will get your toes tapping and your mouth singing. Of these available tracks, the one that stood out to me the most was the earlier mentioned, “Church Downtown”. This song is very upbeat and positively written. It’s a song about surrounding one’s self with people who won’t judge you, or bring you down. In this case, for Joe Miralles, that group of people just happens to be those at his local church — something I can totally relate to. The music has a light rock foundation that compliments Joe’s vocals well, and the overall message and sound is perfect for anyone who’s looking for a pick-me-up song when things aren’t going so great.

“Love Someone” and “Forgiven” are the other two songs that I’d recommend checking out on Five. Both of these tracks add to the album’s character, and help to cement Joe Miralles into the listener’s mind as someone you want to keep up with. If you’re a fan of faith-based rock music that has a pop vocal delivery carrying it, similar to artists like Chris Tomlin and Jeremy Camp, then you’ll definitely want to give Joe Miralles a shot.


  1. Church Downtown
  2. High
  3. Let Love Take the Lead
  4. Forgiven
  5. Love Someone
  6. Give Him Praise