2x Grammy Nominee, Matthew Santos – Into The Further (Album Review)

Review By: Shaine Freeman, Host of The Miews
Genre: Jazz, Soul, Folk-Rock

matthew santos

After enjoying platinum selling success and adding the title of “2x Grammy Nominee” to his credits for his 2007 collaboration with fellow Chi-Town native, Lupe Fiasco, on the smash hit single, “Superstar”, Matthew Santos is casting his star Into The Further with his new 14 track album set for release on June 2, 2015. The cool thing is, Matthew doesn’t have to toot his own horn because some of the world’s most highly regarded artists have done this for him — artists like Jay Z, Rihanna, and Justin Timberlake to name a few. Now, Matthew Santos is back to impact the world with the latest and greatest from his musical archives.

On Into The Further, Matthew blends soulful vocals with indie folk and rock music that delivers a sound sure to please anyone with a taste for well written songs over A+ record production. There are so many great tracks on this album, but if I had to choose a favorite it would be the extended play/two-songs-in-one masterpiece of a composition, “Seven Years” and “It All Works Out”. These two tracks are pretty much just one 8:07 long song that is split into two works, and I have not heard something this well produced in the jazz/soul (Neo-soul) genre yet this year. In-cre-di-ble is the best way to describe Matthew Santos and his band. The vocals, music, songwriting, and melody arrangements are all the works of a pure genius, and they combine to create an emotionally charged, upbeat, and highly enjoyable song that will be on repeat all summer for me.

Overall, Matthew Santos has a winner with Into The Further, and I doubt that anyone would disagree that it’s an awesome release. Other songs on this release that I’d also recommend checking out include: White Gloves, End of the Pipeline (Have a Nice Day!), and Winter’s Song. All of these songs bring life, and their own unique colors to the Into The Further album, setting it up to be a Grammy worthy release should Matthew find his way onto NARAS’s voting ballots. If you’re a fan of great artists like John Legend, Bon Iver, and/or Jeff Buckley, you’re going to really like Matthew Santos.


  1. Into the Further
  2. Ojos
  3. Under the Microscope
  4. Seven Years
  5. It All Works Out
  6. Second Chances
  7. Succumb to Gravity
  8. White Gloves
  9. End of the Pipeline (Have a Nice Day!)
  10. Field and Flower
  11. Just to See You (Take 2)
  12. Winter’s Song
  13. Who Am I to You
  14. And Now the Leap